Rewrites and Help

OUCH! One of the reasons we have friends read our writing is so that they can help point out where we can improve. I have already taken out my favorite line from the first scene of my book based on expert advice, made a plan to change the way I do dialogue based on a different expert’s advice and, got a gut punch tonight when someone pointed out another grammatical issue that would be a glaring grammatical mistake. I had been so proud of the way I constructed those sentences and now I find out that writing like that makes me look ignorant. (I was, I guess, but now I know!)

You can’t have thin skin if you want to be a writer. All of those comments have already helped me improve my writing, or soon will. I am grateful for people willing to help me get better! Please feel free to make comments on any mistakes I make here. I need all the help I can get.

Leave a Reply

