Stretching Myself in #5MinuteFiction

One of the good things about #5MinuteFiction is that the prompts are so often nothing like what I would write on my own. Tonight we had a multiple choice on prompts:

  • a pizza boy running from something that no one else can see
  • a magical ukulele
  • a crystal ball
  • an ice cream shop that only sells 3 flavors and one of them is unknown
  • a really bad / poorly told joke

Surprisingly – I didn’t get the bad joke in there. That would seem like such a natural for me. Anyway, here’s this week’s #5MinuteFiction entry.

“Let’s go, it’ll be fun.” Sometimes new girlfriends can be a pain. You have to break them in – let them know your likes and dislikes. I hated fortune tellers. I hated them with a passion ever since my mom…well, that’s another story. But ever since then, I’ve never visited one. Ok, I never did before, but you catch my drift.

She was insistent though. I rolled my eyes, crossed myself – even though I’m not Catholic – and entered the tent with her. I also made a mental note never to take a girl on a date to the Midway until I had a chance to talk with her. I asked about tea leaves.

“No! Tea leaves are so old. Have her do the crystal ball.”

I shook my head. Why didn’t she want a stuffed bear or one of those “magic ukeleles” instead. Those I could win. I knew how to beat those games. She wanted a reading.

We sat down at the table and Madame Elios started her reading. “You two will resolve your conflicts,” she began.

“Oh great,” I thought. “She’s trying to make this relationship last past the second date.” I was already thinking that we were too far apart already.

“Your fate will rest upon dinner tonight.” She shook her head as if puzzled. Then her voice grew ominous. “You must not eat the pizza.”

That was different. What a crazy old witch.

She continued on in the regular generalities that made the girls think she was so terrific, but I knew applied to anyone. I yawned as we paid her and walked out.

I turned to look at Darla and just as I did, I tripped the kid. I didn’t mean to. He fell forward and his Pizza box flew to the ground. No one knew why he was running. The fall knocked him out so he couldn’t tell us. I looked at the pizza box, and started to pick it up – just for fun.

Darla attacked me before I had a chance. “NO!” she screamed. “Don’t even touch it!”

I laughed to myself until I remembered that she had also said that we would work out our differences. This was not looking good.

If you want to see all the entries, check them out at Wendy’s place (Write on Wendy) And…if you are there at the right time, you get a chance to vote. And just because you know me and are reading this, please feel free to vote for the story you like best. As of now, I don’t know if I even made the finals. Still, this is a fun contest, so jump in and join the fun.

Update:

I am one of the five finalists. If you head on over the Write on Wendy you can vote. Check out the all the stories and then vote for your favorite – which of course should be mine. 😉

Leave a Reply

