There was This Set of Goals I was Supposed to Be Working on – Row80

Ok, ok. So Wednesday is a terrible day for me to have to report. Monday night – not home til about 9:00 and then having to do dishes. (My wife’s doctor’s excuse expires soon, though.) Tuesday night, I can only say that I worked on goal number 3. Wednesday Night – I just got home and my only writing is going to be on this blog. Oh, and helping a friend edit an essay she has to write. It will be a late night. So…

 

 

Goal #1 – Editing. I plan to do about 2 hours per week editing previous work.

There’s still time. I don’t count the editing I’ll be doing for my friend. Nothing so far.

Goal #2 – Writing. I have a couple of short story ideas that I’d like to play with. So, I’ll do about 2 hours per week of short story writing.

Uhm…there’s still time. etc.

Goal #3 – get back where I need to be emotionally at school.

Ok…with all the tension, I needed a blowout type of night. So here. I was talking to kids at school about that today.”You know what a selfie is, sir?”) Spoken with utter amazement. When I talked about using the hashtag that put it on the big video screen they gasped. “You know what a hashtag is sir?” They also asked about Facebook and Instagram. That and the end of the biggest tension producer for me made today a lot more fun. I need to be able to enjoy my students in order to be the kind of teacher I like to be. That and only have 6-7 weeks of school left….

Goal #4 – Work on my reading. I need to spend about 4 hours this week on craft productive or other essential reading. 

Remember what I said earlier about there still being time. Ditto.

I am looking forward to more writing time tomorrow – but I realize tomorrow may not be the writing nirvana I had expected. Thus, I really should seek to do a little bit each day. That or a lot on the weekends. (I bet you were expecting something deep and philosophical the way that started!)

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

2 thoughts on “There was This Set of Goals I was Supposed to Be Working on – Row80

  1. The trick that I found helped when trying to fit writing in my previously busy school schedule, was carrying my laptop with me… everywhere. I am lucky that it is a Mac book air, but just having you work with you will make you more inclined to write whenever you have that free moment. That said, I wish you luck with your writing and the rest of the school term 🙂

    • Thanks for the suggestion. I’ve done that during NaNo, but my laptop is a big 17 incher that isn’t easy to carry around. I sometimes use my tablet though….

Leave a Reply

