Week 2 of #ROW80 and I’m Slipping!

The Row 80 Challenge

The Row 80 Challenge

 

Oh! This is so uncool! Here I am trying to write and edit and stuff…and distractions hit. I need to avoid … another Facebook message? I MUST get that. With my self-imposed holiday from Facebook over, distractions are even easier to come by. I’m thinking a new goal is to stay on task!

So, real quickly since I’m late after finishing grading.

 

 

 

Goal #1 – Editing. I plan to do about 2 hours per week editing previous work.

I got about an hour and a half done. I think it was productive editing. I just let myself get distra…the Hawks let another goal in with less than a minute left? Now, where was I?

Goal #2 – Writing. I have a couple of short story ideas that I’d like to play with. So, I’ll do about 2 hours per week of short story writing.

45 minutes to an hour written. Slow progress….

Goal #3 – get back where I need to be emotionally at school.

Grading done. State Testing coming up. Retirement plans pretty much put on hold for the time being…I should be good.

Goal #4 – Work on my reading. I need to spend about 4 hours this week on craft productive or other essential reading. 

Uhmmmm Photography and other things seemed so much more important than reading……the hummingbirds are in town! And…a summer tanager!

Ok…updated goals. Now that I am back on Facebook I need to limit my time there. Goal #5 – no more than 1 hour per day on Facebook. Goal #3 – Begin cleaning up the mess that passes for my room at school.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

2 thoughts on “Week 2 of #ROW80 and I’m Slipping!

  1. Distractions are killer. Especially in Spring I find, as the winter gloom is still fresh in memory every patch of sun is distracting and enticing. Try to remember how nice it is to get progress done especially in that critical moment where a distraction wants to pull you away. Nearly nothing has to be done right that second.
    Congrats on getting progress done through the distractions. Keep going.

  2. Distraction loves to sneak up next to us and throw marshmallow on our glasses, doesn’t it? Doesn’t just draw us right out of the moment, but keeps us occupied for hours afterward fixing things…

    I don’t know about you, Bob, but I’ve found that even an hour on Facebook a day is too much. Yeah, I’m missing a lot more social discussions of cats and trending pics, but I’m finally catching up on the things that matter. And, personally, I think photography matters too. Enjoy those hummingbirds 😀

Leave a Reply

