It All Started With the “Fight” #WOW555

The prompt this week is “Your story must include some form of romance.” I decided to combine a couple of ideas and look at things from a more innocent side. I hope you enjoy it.

I love the bigger birds, but mating rituals of all the birds fascinated me. When I saw the mockingbirds going at it, I stopped and watched with wonder. I raised my camera to get a few shots. Then, the silence was shattered.

“Look auntie! Birdies fighting!” The toddler’s yell scared the birds and they flew off, perhaps to a more secluded spot for their romantic encounter. I sighed with disappointment.

“Yes, dear. They shouldn’t be fighting, should they?” I looked back and saw a cute young lady who shrugged as she caught my glance as if to ask, “How else do I explain it to a three year old?” Then she turned to her niece and said, “Honey, head on back to your mommy. I’d like to talk with this man here. I’ll watch you run!”

As her niece ran back, she watched her and then headed towards me. I tried not to let her see that I was upset, how can you be upset with a three year old kid, and got off my knees and walked to her.

“I’m so sorry,” she said.

I shrugged. Then, I laughed at the absurdity. “Fighting?” I raised my eyebrows like my old teacher used to whenever I gave a stupid answer.

She laughed. “Her mom can tell her about the birds and the bees.” Then she looked like she was debating her next line. The temptation got the best of her and she said it. “Besides, make up sex is best, isn’t it?”

I felt the burning in my cheeks. I didn’t talk about sex much, especially with a beautiful girl I didn’t know! “I wouldn’t know,” I finally managed to stammer.

“Sorry to make you uncomfortable,” she said. Her apology even sounded genuine. “I don’t know why I said it.”

“That’s ok,” I mumbled.

The silence was awkward. “Can I see your camera? Did you get any good shots?”

We were back on comfortable ground again. She came close enough to look and I never did take the camera off my neck. “Sure, I got a few good pics during the ‘fight.’” I laughed a bit. Her smile lit up my day. She looked genuinely happy to be looking at my pics. Her breath made the hairs on my neck stand up as she flipped through more pics than I got of the mating. She not only appreciated the camera work, she seemed to know her birds, too.

She turned and looked at me. Our lips almost touched we were so close. “This is going to sound like a bad pickup line, but my sister was holding my camera while I walked with Elaine. Can I invite you over to see my pictures? I’m not half bad as a photographer myself.”

I was finally beginning to feel at ease. “I’d love to,” I said as I smiled.

“Come with me, then,” she said. She reached out and took my hand. “I think we’re going to like each other.”

One thought on “It All Started With the “Fight” #WOW555

Leave a Reply

