Hope – #WOW555

We all “know” that four leaf clovers are “lucky.” They are rare and finding one usually is a source of excitement. As we head towards St. Patrick’s Day, Wendy got us in the mood with this prompt: “For this week’s prompt, I want you to find a four-leaf clover, that extra leaf representing luck.” What if, really what if that luck was based on a power we didn’t know? What if there really was a basis for our superstition regarding four leaf clovers? Here’s my #WOW555 entry this week.

Hope

I think most of us welcomed them when they came. We didn’t expect anyone to fly hundreds of light years just to find some slaves. Were we wrong! They not only wanted slaves, they wanted the planet. It was total world domination in days. I was one of the lucky ones. I survived. Now this big alien led me around by the nose getting me to do his dirty work for him. These guys had far superior technology, but they were soft. Every thirty minutes, he took a ten minute rest break. I didn’t mind that since I was doing his hard work, but I realized that if we ever got out of this enslavement, I’d never complain about a government worker’s work ethic again.

“Hum-AN” He screeched through his universal translator. “Stop digging. I rest now.”

Lucky me. I got a break. I decided to wander around the area. It had been a field I played in before the photon bombs had ripped it up. I wanted to see what was left of it. Ali, did I tell you I called my master “Ali” instead of “big ugly Alien,” didn’t mind me wandering. All he had to do was snap his fingers and the nose device would call me back to him. The first time he did that, the pain lasted until the next break. I wouldn’t wander off and not come back.

There wasn’t much to see. Lots of bomb craters. Some green patches where bombs had missed. I was too old to play any kind of games now, but decided to play one anyway just to have some fun. My secret mission was to walk only on the green parts of the field and avoid the bombed out parts. Maybe I was trying to pretend that I would have been lucky enough to live through that bombardment. I jumped from strands of Johnson grass into a small area of clover and almost fell into a bomb crater. As I looked at the possible end of the game, I saw it.

There in the middle of the bomb crater were a couple of lucky four leaf clovers that had survived the bombs. Or maybe they had grown up after, who knows. All I knew was that I hadn’t seen one in years and I wanted one! I finished my game and jumped into the crater to pick up the lucky clover. I turned and ran back quickly before Ali decided to get nosy.

I rushed back and suddenly realized I was holding the clover where Ali could see it. I stopped and put it behind my back. Too late.

“Hum-AN! Whats do you gots?”

I had tried to lie once before. Never again. I showed him the clover. “This is a sign of good luck for my people.”

“Gives it to me, Hum-AN.”

I put it in his outstretched hand with a bit of a tear in my eye. His reaction was amazing.

“Its burn! Its burn!” He screeched out. Then, he toppled over.

I looked carefully and picked up the clover. It really had been lucky. It seemed to have a special glow to it. If other Alis responded to four leaf clovers like this, we had hope.

Check things out!

2 thoughts on “Hope – #WOW555

Leave a Reply

