Life of an Indie Author

J. S. Bailey is an Indie author that I’ve had the pleasure of conversing with from time to time. She writes speculative fiction from a Christian perspective. I wouldn’t call speculative fiction one of my favorite genres, but I have enjoyed her writing. She wrote a blog post talking about the life of an Indie Author. I love her spirit. I hope you check her out on Amazon.

By this point in time, I have published four novels (one currently out of print) and sixteen short stories. It has been a wonderful journey, and I wouldn’t change it for anything.
But here’s the reality of being an indie author:
In 2016, I drove 4,927.2 miles to and from events promoting my books.
I had $4,560.41 in sales from my books.
I spent $5,317.47 on inventory purchases, editing, formatting, advertising, Square fees, shipping, and other book-related expenses.
Read the rest of her blog post here

 

 

Leave a Reply

